

Save Our Heritage Organisation Saving San Diego's Past for the Future

Tuesday, March 13, 2017

Mayor Faulconer & San Diego City Council 202 "C" Street San Diego, CA 92101

Re: North Chapel, Navel Training Center/Liberty Station

Mayor Faulconer & Councilmembers,

Save Our Heritage Organisation (SOHO) has great concern regarding the proposed change in use for the Navel Training Center (NTC) North Chapel located at 2881 Roosevelt Road in Liberty Station. Changing the use of the North Chapel to anything requiring that the interior historic fabric be removed is inconsistent with the Guidelines for the Treatment of Historic Properties at the Naval Training Center and violates the trust of the larger community, because the North Chapel is intended to have a public use as well.

Constructed immediately after the bombing of Pearl Harbor in 1941, the NTC North Chapel serves to honor all the men and women of the U.S. Navy. Many sailors attended their last church service here before leaving to defend our country in WWII, Korea and Vietnam. Due to this special context, one of the goals for the Guidelines for the Treatment of Historic Properties at the Naval Training Center (approved by City Council in October 2000) is to guide the preservation and use of several unique buildings and places where special care is needed. The North Chapel is noted specifically as one of these unique places that warrants special consideration. Further, C. W. Clark restored the stained glass windows, ornate tile, and hand carved interior pews using historic tax credits, which enabled continued use by the public for religious services, weddings, memorials, lectures and concerts—all uses that are consistent with the original use of the Chapel.

SOHO strongly asserts that changing the use of the North Chapel to a restaurant, or anything else that is not compatible with the original use, is in violation of the public trust and inconsistent with the adopted Guidelines.

Thank you for the opportunity to comment,

Bruce Coons

Executive Director

Save Our Heritage Organisation

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Jaye MacAskill, President • David Goldberg, Vice President • Jessica McGee, Treasurer • John Eisenhart, Secretary M. Wayne Donaldson • Erik Hanson • Paul Johnson • Nancy Moors • John Rush • Scott Sandel • David Swarens • Kiley Wallace Bruce Coons, Executive Director